Why Working from Home is Good for Introverts, and our Employers

“You once said that you would like to sit beside me while I write. Listen, in that case I could not write at all” Kafka

The great big telework debate has been ongoing in recent years, but I didn’t feel the desire to throw my hat in the ring until Yahoo CEO, Marissa Mayer put a stop to teleworking and hauled her employees back into the office. I felt so compelled in fact, that I wrote a guest blog post for Hey Receiver about my perspective.

I’m of two minds on this subject. I agree that from personal experience there’s nothing that can quite compare to sitting down with someone face to face to meet and work through a project. I enjoy seeing my colleagues, having some laughs and I do feel isolated and miss the social aspect of the office when working from home.

HOWEVER, as an introvert, I know that I cannot function successfully working 100% of the time in an open-concept office, surrounded by colleagues when trying to concentrate.

If my ability to work successfully were a stew, the two key ingredients would certainly be quiet and privacy, and a chatty, cube free workspace, does not allow for either.

In her book, Quiet, Susan Cain references several studies that prove the theory that working alone is better for creativity among introverts and she names some famous ones, including, Dr. Seuss, Kafka, Bill Gates and Steve Wozniak, to name a few.

For me, I need a balance of working from home on those days when I need to really dive deep into writing and plan out my projects. Technology is key though. It could be tricky to work from home comfortably if you don’t have the same access you would in the office.

I also enjoy breaking out of the house, getting some fresh air and putting in some face time with my colleagues. It is really all about a balance between the two. If your employees are anything like me, you will have a healthier, happier, more creative and productive workforce if you allow us some “me” time.

Not sure you can make teleworking work for you? I came across a helpful GlobeandMail.com article that outlines the Ten Ways to Boost Productivity While Working From Home, and I think it’s spot on.

Does working from home appeal to all introverts? Does it appeal to extroverts too? I’d like to know what you think, even if you disagree with me 😉

2 thoughts on “Why Working from Home is Good for Introverts, and our Employers

Leave a comment